Who is through to the T20 World Cup Super 8s?

A split picture of Paul Stirling, Richie Berrington, Jos Buttler and Mitchell MarshImage source, Getty Images
Image caption,

Ball-by-ball commentary of every game in the Super 8s will be available on BBC Sounds and BBC Radio 5 Sports Extra

  • Published

After two weeks of action, the line-up for the Super 8s at the Men's T20 World Cup is now complete.

The top two from each of the four groups have made it through to the next stage, which gets under way on Wednesday.

BBC Sport tells you who is through and looks at how the group stage panned out.

At a glance: Who is in the Super 8s and who is out?

Through to the Super 8s: India, United States, England, Australia, West Indies, Afghanistan, South Africa and Bangladesh.

Eliminated: Canada, Ireland, Pakistan, Scotland, Namibia, Oman, New Zealand, Uganda, Papua New Guinea, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Netherlands.

What are the groups for the T20 World Cup Super 8s?

The eight teams will be split into the following two groups in the Super 8s:

Group One: India, Australia, Afghanistan and Bangladesh

Group Two: United States, England, West Indies and South Africa

How did the group stages finish at the T20 World Cup?

Group A table

India qualified for the Super 8s with one game to spare, while the United States joined them after their fixture against Ireland was abandoned because of rain.

Pakistan, Canada and Ireland were all eliminated as a result of that washout.

Group B table

England's place in the Super 8s was secured when Scotland were beaten by Australia in St Lucia.

England's win over Namibia moved them above Scotland on net run-rate.

Australia secured their place in the Super 8s after their first three matches.

Scotland were eliminated after that defeat by Australia.

Namibia and Oman are eliminated.

Group C table

Afghanistan qualified for the Super 8s by beating Papua New Guinea.

Co-hosts West Indies secured their place with one game to spare thanks to victory over New Zealand.

New Zealand, Uganda and Papua New Guinea have been eliminated.

Group D table

South Africa qualified for the Super 8s following the washout between Sri Lanka and Nepal.

Bangladesh joined them after beating Nepal in their final game, which meant that the Netherlands were eliminated.

Nepal and Sri Lanka are also eliminated.

How is net run-rate calculated?

Run-rate is the average number of runs scored per over by a team in their entire innings - so, for example, a score of 140 off 20 overs equals seven runs per over.

Net run-rate is calculated by subtracting the opposition's run-rate from the other team's run-rate.

The winning side will therefore have a positive net run-rate, and the losers a negative net run-rate.

In a tournament, net run-rate is worked out by taking the average runs per over scored by that team in each game and subtracting the average runs per over scored against them in each game.

If a team is bowled out inside their allotted overs, their run-rate is calculated by dividing the runs by the maximum overs they could have batted - 20 overs in the case of this tournament.