'Big calls changed the game' - Caddell on Carrick loss

Declan CaddellImage source, Inpho
Image caption,

Caddell felt his team lost their way after Carrick's first goal from the penalty spot

  • Published

Crusaders manager Declan Caddell felt big calls went against his team as Carrick Rangers came back from three down to win 4-3 at Seaview.

The Crues looked to be on course for an impressive win when hitting three goals inside the opening 32 minutes, but the decision by referee Mark Dillon to award a penalty when Aidan Steele was taken down by Elliot Dunlop proved to be something of a turning point as Jack Scott converted.

Goals from Daniel Gibson either side of the break brought the visitors level, but another big call in injury time would lead to Scott stroking home a second penalty, awarded when a cross struck the hand of Robbie Weir.

Caddell didn't feel his team produced the goods in the second period, but was frustrated by both big calls which ultimately cost his team.

"The first 35 minutes we dominated, scored three goals and could have had five or six, but a big call and a big decision has allowed Carrick to get back into the game," he told BBC Sport NI.

"You try to calm down over the summer, forget about things and look forward to a new campaign, but at 3-0 up we are cruising. A big call, which I think he got wrong, changed that game and from that we lost our way.

"I can take a bit of responsibility for that in the second half, as to how the players performed. I don't think they were at it, but big calls change games.

"Even the last penalty, I'm not sure again, so it's two huge calls from the referee that has given Carrick Rangers three points today."

'It's frustrating but we'll move on'

Caddell does not believe the introduction of VAR into the Irish League is the natural step to rule on such big calls but instead feels the decisions that went against his team are easily fixed.

"You don't have to go VAR, they are basic decisions," he continued.

"On the sideline, I look for the reaction of my players and the opposition players.

The first one: the linesman is four yards away has given a throw-in to us, which was the right call, but the referee overrules him.

"The second: there referee says handball. It has hit his hand, but he hasn't made himself bigger, so they are huge calls.

"We lost our way and that can happen when calls go against you. It's frustrating, but we have to move on."